OurNigeria News Magazine
Online Read Magazine in Nigeria

Katsina APC stalwarts, party members resign, join PDP

Katsina APC stalwarts, party members resign, join PDP

In Katsina State, three All Progressives Congress (APC) members of the House of Representatives who were denied tickets for the 2023 elections have switched parties.

Following a private meeting with PDP Presidential candidate Atiku Abubakar in Sokoto on Sunday, Reps. Hamza Dalhatu (Rimi/Charanci/Batagarawa seat), Salisu Iro (Katsina constituency), and Ahmad Dayyabu (Danmusa/Batsari/Safana constituency) decided to leave the APC.

Dr. Mustapha Muhammed Inuwa, a former secretary to the Katsina State government who is now the director general of the Atiku Lado Campaign Council in Katsina, explained that the defection occurred after Atiku met with an APC House of Representatives member from Katsina who was unable to win a ticket back to the National Assembly during the party’s primary elections.

Read Also: PDP Chairman, 500 Stalwarts Dumps Party For APC In Yobe

Other two chieftains of the ruling Katsina APC also defected to PDP with thousands of their followers during the PDP’s campaign tour to Kurfi local government area on Monday in a bid to ensure the PDP returns to power in Katsina.

Umar Tsauri, the Chairman, Atiku/Lado Campaign Council, presented Bishir Lawal and Dahiru Ahmed (aka Baba Dahe) alongside 9,390 of their supporters who turned out en masse to welcome them to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Tsauri assured citizens of Kurfi of PDP’s determination to curb insecurity, restore free education and open up all the borders for the benefit of the people in the state.

Katsina APC stalwarts, party members resign, join PDP

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.