Our Nigeria News Magazine
The news is by your side.

FG okays N35,000 wage award for workers

FG okays N35,000 wage award for workers

President Bola Tinubu authorized N35,000 as a six-month provisional pay award for all treasury-paid federal government employees.

Malam Mohammed Idris, Minister of Information and National Orientation, made the announcement in Abuja on Sunday.

He stated that this was the result of meetings at the Presidential Villa between the federal administration and labour union representatives.

At the conference, the Federal Government also pledged its resolve to expedite the deployment of compressed natural gas (CNG) buses to alleviate the strain on public transport caused by the termination of PMS subsidies.

The Federal Government has also committed to providing cash for micro and small-scale businesses, as well as VAT exemptions on diesel for the next six months.

It also approved a payout of N75,000 to 15 million households at a monthly rate of N25,000 from October to December.

Highlights of the decision reached at the meeting include:

The Federal Government urged the Labour unions not to embark on strike action as the issues in dispute can only be resolved when workers are at work.

Labour Unions made a case for higher wage awards.

Read Also: FG Okays procurement of 12 attack helicopters for Army

A sub-committee will be constituted to work out the details of the implementation of all items regarding government interventions to cushion the effect of fuel subsidy removal.

The lingering matter of Road Transport Employees Association of Nigeria (RTEAN)  and National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW) in Lagos State will be addressed urgently.

NLC and TUC will consider the offers by the Federal Government with a view to suspending the planned strike to allow for further consultations on the implementation of the agreed resolutions.

Gov. Abdulrazak Abdulrahman of Kwara and Chairman of the Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF) and Gov. Dapo Abiodun of Ogun, participated virtually in the meeting, chaired by the Chief of Staff to the President, Femi Gbajabiamila.

Also in attendance were the Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Wale Edun, the Minister of Information and National Orientation, Mohammed Idris, the Minister of Labour and Employment, Simon Lalong, the Minister of State, Labour, Nkeiruka Onyejeocha, and the Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Abubakar  Bagudu.

Others are the Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation, Betta Edu, the Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Doris Uzoka-Anite, the Head of Service of the Federation, Dr Folasade Yemi-Esan and the National Security Adviser (NSA), Malam Nuhu Ribadu.

The labour delegation was led by NLC President, Joe Ajaero, Dr Tommy Okon, Deputy President, TUC,  NLC General Secretary, Emma Ugboaja, and the TUC General Secretary, Nuhu Toro.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.