Our Nigeria News Magazine
The news is by your side.

Schoolgirls Abduction: Kano, Zamfara closes boarding schools

Schoolgirls Abduction: Kano, Zamfara closes boarding schools

Governor Bello Matawalle of Zamfara State has on Friday ordered the immediate closure of boarding secondary schools in the state hours after the abduction of over 300 schoolgirls in Talata Mafara Local Government Area (LGA) of the state.

The directive to shut all boarding secondary schools was announced by the state governor, during a special state broadcast on the early Friday’s abduction of the students at Government Girls Secondary School, Jangebe.

“I wish to assure everyone that we are wholly committed to ensuring a speedy rescue of our dear schoolgirls and reuniting them with their families,” the governor said.

The governor disclosed that police helicopters and other search and rescue operatives have been activated and deployed to the area of the abduction and their possible location.

“As we are making efforts to strengthen security around our schools, I have directed the immediate closure of all boarding secondary schools across the state,” Matawalle stated while assuring that members of the public as well as parents and guardians of the students, would be kept informed of any developments.

“Despite this seeming setback, my administration will ever remain focused on its strategy of disarmament. A single bullet in the hands of the non-state rogue elements could result in severe harm to the innocent”.

Meanwhile, Kano State Government has also ordered the closure of 10 boarding schools following the abduction of students from boarding schools which now a reoccurring menace in the northern states.

The state commissioner for education, Sanusi Kiru, announced the development in an audio message sent to journalists on Friday evening. He explained that the decision to close the selected schools was followed a thorough analysis and assessment of the abduction of boarding students in night hours in some states.

He listed the affected Kano schools as Government Secondary School Ajingi, Government Girls Secondary School Sumaila, Government Girls Secondary School Jogana, Government Girls Secondary School Gezawa and Government Secondary School Kafin Maiyaki.

Others, according to Mr Kiru,are Maitama Sule Science Secondary School Gaya, Government Girls Unity School Kachako, Government Girls Secondary School Kunchi, Government Unity College Karaye and Government Girls Arabic College Albasu.

Mr Kiru called on parents whose children are in the affected schools to go and pick them immediately.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.